Information about Criminal trial process

curlscurls Posts: 3,111
edited January 1970 in Dr. Conrad Murray
Someone recently posted a brilliantly detailed description of the various hearing stages of a court case, such as Murray's. Now I can't find it! I want to remind myself of how far along in the process it is. I think it's still in the 'preliminary' stages, so I don't expect much from next week's hearing.

If anyone remembers that post and can point me in the right direction I'd be very grateful. I don't think it's in the recent threads in this section.

Thanks.

Comments

• I don't remember seeing anything like you describe but I'd be more than interested if anyone remembers it. Thanks for bringing this up. I don't expect much to happen next week either. Watch for the garbage cans.
  • reading_onreading_on Posts: 463
    I don't know who posted before but I have this article, which seems to be correct (and I have extensive knowledge on the process) I should say that all trials get drawn out too. If it is serious enough you can bet on at least two years of different stuff.

Criminal trial process
    Learn about the criminal trial process, from the arrest to the verdict, a step by step synopsis of a criminal court trial.

The process of a criminal trial starts when an individual is arrested, or charges are filed for a warrant. Within 2 to 48 hours of initial arrest, the defendant must have his informal arraignment. During this time, the defendant is informed of the charges against him. If the defendant has not already been mirandized, he will be informed of his rights. Even if this has already taken place, he will be informed again of his right to counsel
    . If the charge is not murder, bail will be set. If the charge is for murder, bail may be set, at the discretion of the judge. The defendant will then be notified of when and where to appear next, then will be allowed to leave if bail has been set, or he will be remanded into custody.